top of page
  • TS

Annual Awards Dinner

The Band held its customary annual Awards Night Dinner the last Saturday in January at the Hilton Hotel, Cobham, a chance for Band members and their partners to relax and look back over the previou

s year’s achievements. Guests of honour were Roland Knight (trombone) and Duncan Ford (Eb bass), both long-standing players who stepped down in late 2019.

After an excellent dinner and addresses by Musical Director Chris King and Band Chairman Nigel Stevens, the awards were presented. Selected by Chris King, the Player of the Year was Chris Straker (euphonium); Most Improved Player was Mike Jefferies (percussion); and Section of the Year were the cornets. Cornet player and Band Manager David Wicks was voted Bandsman of the Year by the players, and Adam Gregory (bass trombone) won the Best Attendance award.

After the presentations, there was time to chat and enjoy party games! Many thanks to our hard-working Band Secretary Lauren Straker for organising the evening.

bottom of page