top of page

Friary's Annual General Meeting

Friary’s Annual General Meeting, held at Chertsey Hall on 17th June, saw a number of changes in the Band’s management team.  Long-serving member Jane Challiss stepped down as Treasurer, with Chris Straker taking over this vital function.  Chris Attwood rejoins the team, and Stephen Thorpe fills the vacant Minute Secretary role.  Other members of the team, who are also the Band’s trustees, were re-elected.  A full list of trustees is available on Friary’s Charity Commission profile.

Musical Director Nigel Taken stated how delighted he was with the Band’s progress over the past year.  The performance at the Grand Shield in May was spectacularly good, he said, and the well-deserved result all the more creditable off a number one draw.  He believes Friary has limitless potential and is aiming for a top six result at the National Finals in October …

Chairman David Wicks thanked everyone in the Band for their continuing commitment and dedication, as well as the hard work of the management team.  In particular he acknowledged the outstanding contribution made by the outgoing treasurer, Jane Challiss, and presented her with a card and small gift.  Summarising, he commented: ‘This has been a pivotal year for Friary and with a strong dedicated team we now look forward to the next with a real prospect of breaking through to achieve success and recognition at the national level.  Most importantly of all, let’s continue to enjoy this amazing journey,’ he concluded.



bottom of page